Back from Copenhagen…

I’m writing this on the plane heading back to Toronto after spending a few days at the Microsoft Development Center in Copenhagen (great building!!). I was participating in a set of meetings around how to wow the Dynamics 365 for Financials customer.

It’s all about the customer experience, or the journey if you will. From the time they select and install an extension, the customer needs to have an experience that makes them want to continue, and makes them want to register and purchase your extension. Let’s face it, first impressions are huge, especially in a SaaS world where choice is king. If a customer needs to jump through hoops to get your extension setup before they can even try it out, chances are they’re going to move on.

While I can’t get into the details as they are yet to be made public, what I can say is that it was great for IndustryBuilt Software Corp. to be included in the select group of partners that were chosen to participate alongside some key Microsoft resources, in order to help define the standards that all partners can (and I hope will!) adopt in order to make their extensions great. A ton of ideas were discussed and everyone came away from the meetings with new information on how to not only improve their own extensions, but ways in which we can create tools and samples that other partners can use. Can’t wait to see all of the final products!

As an added bonus, I spent a bit of time playing with extensions v2, which I’ve been wanting to do for a while now. I even begin converting my existing v1 extension into a v2 extension, and conversion process is slick. There’s always clean up to be done after any conversion tool, but it gets you close! The tool is not available yet so I’m not spilling any beans on it now, but I’ll be working with Microsoft to resolve some of the issues that I did encounter, so perhaps I can share more information later.

That’s it for now, and as I said, more information will come on this when it has been made public, but for now, rest assured there is a strong dedication and commitment from Microsoft on ensuring that whether the customer is new to ERP or they’re a seasoned veteran, their software experience will be fantastic!

Leave a Reply

